Search

The Book of Accidents

Coleen

Reviewed by

Coleen

Posted by

Countylib

Category

Posted

June 29, 2022

As a diehard fan of Stephen King’s horror novels, I was eerily entertained with a recent read-alike: The Book of Accidents by Chuck Wendig. A rural Pennsylvania setting and a haunted house sounded right up my alley…

Off to an electric start, Wendig introduces us first to a serial killer facing execution, than bolts to Ramble Rocks, a thing – more than a place, where Nathan (Nate), Maddie, and their son Oliver (Ollie) return to live.

Oliver and Nate are introduced by their trauma(s): Oliver’s special sensitivity drives them to move back to their hometown, and Nate’s memories of abuse arise when he returns, both intertwined with Edmund Walker Reese, and the Ramble Rocks. At first, you wonder if the spookiness is simply a reaction from  Oliver and Nate’s mental health, but you soon learn that you cannot “believe what you see,” as Wendig combines elements of horror with a metaphysical twist.

We learn the history of the Ramble Rocks through the Book of Accidents and, with it, the history of Edmund Walker Reese. Short and choppy chapters introduce brief character shadowing, and seven sections introduce numerical episodes – a quirkiness of this novel I really enjoyed.

From 666, Room 237 in The Shining, or Friday the 13th – Chuck Wendig introduces us to number 99 and he doesn’t mean The Great One. A suspense-filled character-driven novel rather than gore-fest or slasher, it still contains elements that will shock, and inspire you to turn the lights back on.

CHECK OUT OTHER PICKS
STAFF PICKS

Reckless Girls

Reviewed by Marg
STAFF PICKS

Finlay Donovan is Killing It

Reviewed by Amy
STAFF PICKS

The Perfect Family

Reviewed by Marg

L&A Libraries straight to your inbox

Don’t miss out on popular programs or exciting new releases. Get library news and suggested reads delivered straight to your inbox.

Share this post

Click on one of the icons below to share this post.

Page link

https://countylibrary.ca/the-book-of-accidents/

Search

home icon