Search

Reckless Girls

Reviewed by

Marg

Posted by

Countylib

Category

Posted

June 29, 2022

From Rachel Hawkins, the author of The Wife Upstairs, comes her latest gripping thriller Reckless Girls.

I’m not going to lie, I completely chose this book for its bright, sunny and visually appealing cover. It promises a peaceful tropical getaway but I guess that’s where the old adage ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ comes in, this book was anything but a relaxing escape.

Protagonist Lux is at a crossroads in life. She dropped out of college to care for her recently deceased mother and is now stuck in a dead end job she hates. When her boyfriend Nico accepts a job to sail best friends Brittany and Anna to Meroe Island, a deserted South Pacific Island with a dark and mysterious history, Lux reluctantly decides to tag along. When they arrive at the remote island they are surprised to find the owners of a luxury catamaran already anchored off Meroe’s beautiful beaches. Owners Jake and Eliza welcome the newcomers with open arms as they begin an idyllic week in paradise. 

The six new friends are unaware that trouble is brewing on the horizon as a creepy stranger arrives on the island changing the dynamics of the group.

In the coming days the reader learns that people on the island have deep, dark, potentially dangerous secrets soon to be revealed as infidelities occur, one of the group goes missing and a body is discovered. Fans of Ruth Ware, Lucey Foley and Shari Lapena will be captivated by this dark, gritty, atmospheric page-turner.

CHECK OUT OTHER PICKS
STAFF PICKS

The Lies I Tell

Reviewed by Marg
STAFF PICKS

Mickey 7

Reviewed by Coleen
STAFF PICKS

The Woman in the Library

Reviewed by Kristin

L&A Libraries straight to your inbox

Don’t miss out on popular programs or exciting new releases. Get library news and suggested reads delivered straight to your inbox.

Share this post

Click on one of the icons below to share this post.

Page link

https://countylibrary.ca/reckless-girls/

Search

home icon