Search

The Expectant Detectives

Reviewed by

Karen

Posted by

Countylib

Category

Posted

April 18, 2024

Young first-time expectant parent Alice and Joe (and their less than well behaved dog, Helen, who steals the show!) leave London and move to the Cotswolds, hoping for a better place to raise their child. Alice is worried about being able to fit in with people in their new village, which has a lot of new-agey shops and even a local commune. She does, however, find friends at her prenatal classes, especially after one of the ladies gives birth during the class at the same time a murder happens downstairs. All the moms to be join forces to solve this crime, and despite having little in common besides being pregnant, they become fast friends.

This is an upbeat, engaging, humorous cozy mystery, and is the first book in a series. The second title Dead Tired is due to be published in June 2024 and I’m very much looking forward to reading it!

The Expectant Detectives is perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club or the Finlay Donovan books.

CHECK OUT OTHER PICKS
STAFF PICKS

Mal Goes to War

Reviewed by Coleen
STAFF PICKS

And Then She Fell

Reviewed by Amanda
STAFF PICKS

Hello Beautiful

Reviewed by Madeline

L&A Libraries straight to your inbox

Don’t miss out on popular programs or exciting new releases. Get library news and suggested reads delivered straight to your inbox.

Share this post

Click on one of the icons below to share this post.

Page link

https://countylibrary.ca/the-expectant-detectives/

Search

home icon