Search

Cobalt: Cradle of the Demon Metals

Colbalt

Reviewed by

Julie

Posted by

Countylib

Category

Posted

February 8, 2022

With the demand for cobalt in today’s society, Charlie Angus’ book Cobalt: Cradle of the Demon Metals Birth of a Mining Town writes about the history and its impact of cobalt mining from its first discovery in Cobalt, Ontario to current day.  

This book covers a lot without seeming heavy handed. It offers a social history of frontier life, an economic lesson in the rise and fall of a boomtown, and commentary on indigenous relations and the impact of mining on the environment. Angus writes a very readable non-fiction. 

This book packs quite the punch in the vein of Charlotte Gray’s Gold Diggers and Murdered Midas.

CHECK OUT OTHER PICKS
STAFF PICKS

The Duchess of Cambridge

Reviewed by Kristin

L&A Libraries straight to your inbox

Don’t miss out on popular programs or exciting new releases. Get library news and suggested reads delivered straight to your inbox.

Share this post

Click on one of the icons below to share this post.

Page link

https://countylibrary.ca/cobalt-staffpick/

Search

home icon